Sunvault is available for preorder!

Okay, maybe I didn’t follow through on my commitment to get back to posting regularly. You know how it is. Final assignments need to get marked, jobs for September need to get applied to, conference preparations need to get done, end-of-year preparations need to be handled, poems need to be written in student yearbooks, and actual words need to get written somewhere in there, too …

Having said that, I’m going to totally cop out this week, too, since this post is solely to announce a forthcoming publication. Sunvault: Stories of Solarpunk and Eco-Speculation is coming soon from Upper Rubber Boot, and is now available for preorder! The anthology includes a ton of excellent authors, some of whom I’ve actually met and/or worked with before, along with my short story “Pop and the CFT,” where a retired rocker has to deal with the carbon footprint tax on his late father’s estate. You can check out the TOC and the phenomenal cover (seriously, it’s beautiful) on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

While we’re on the topic of self-promotion, I wanted to shine a spotlight on the review work I’m still doing for BlackGate.com. Since I have someone to report to there, I’m actually consistent with posting a biweekly review of something I’ve read, under the banner “In 500 Words or Less,” since there are too many long-winded reviews out there. I also post the occasional interview with a fellow author discussing their work, which so far has included Desirina Boskovich, Leah Bobet, Ryan McFadden and others. My latest review is Dogs of War by Jonathan Maberry, and you can go back through to see my thoughts on work by Mary Robinette Kowal, Joe Abercrombie, Desirina Boskovich and others. Over the summer I’ll be adding a page here cataloguing some of my Black Gate posts, but for now you can follow the link above to see what I’m up to.

More announcements coming soon, as well as regular posting of my madcap accounts of the writing life. Probably.

Leave a Reply

