The First Rule of TEGG

I haven’t been very public about my involvement in the Ed Greenwood Group (TEGG) since I joined, mainly because I’m not allowed to talk much due to an NDA (and how cool is it that I have to sign an NDA for something?!). However, I figure I should make my participation in TEGG official, so this is what I can say about what you might see from me down the road.

If you’ve never heard of TEGG, it’s a consortium of creative types working together in a series of shared universes created by Ed Greenwood, of Forgotten Realms and other fame. I kid you not, there are fifteen distinct universes developed so far, offering a ton of variety and room to play for ambitious authors like myself. The names are available on the Onder Librum website, though only two of the universes have been publicly released so far.

At the moment, I’m working on projects for two TEGG universes. One universe is Folklore: The Affliction, which hasn’t launched yet, so I can’t tell you anything about it beyond what’s available on the Onder website. Sorry. But the other story I’m working on will be set in Stormtalons, a fantasy universe that recently launched with novels by Mr. Greenwood and Gregory A. Wilson. Stormtalons is set on Asmer, a world plagued by roving mists that can transform anyone who passes through (if they ever return), where magic users live in fear of being captured and pressed into service by the mysterious Hierophar, and tensions continue to mount from an ongoing cold war between the Hierophar’s realm of Skalaunt and the theocracy of Rheligor. As the Onder Librum website states, it’s a world rife with adventure, and I’m having a blast working within it so far. On things I can’t tell you about. Apparently I’m a bit of a tease.

As soon as I am able to tell you more about what I’m working on, I will. In the meantime, I highly suggest you check out what’s already been released for Stormtalons. The entire TEGG venture is going to be producing some really excellent work in the coming months and years, and I’m just grateful that I get to be a part of it.

(Additional Note: The first TEGG setting, Hellmaw, launched a little while ago and already features eight novels. Hellmaw is set in a world very similar to our own, where shapeshifting demons known as the Araurra occasionally cross over from another dimension. If you want a taste of the darkly funny and sometimes twisted tone of Hellmaw, read Marie Bilodeau’s novel Eye of Glass.)

 

Leave a Reply

