There are Too Many Awesome Things

A while back – so long ago that I can’t remember exactly when, and I don’t feel like going through my archives to find it – I talked about the long list of “must-see” movies and TV shows that I have never watched, like 2001 and Breaking Bad and almost every Alien film. I don’t think I’ve touched a single item on that list since I posted it, and odds are I never will. Why? There are simply too many awesome things out there to read, watch or experience, and picking and choosing between them can be a chore. (If ever there was a first-world problem, this is it.)

A couple friends of mine were raving (not for the first time) about Critical Role, a web series on Geek and Sundry where a group of voice actors play Dungeons and Dragons. The show streams live every Thursday, and has somewhere around sixty episodes available online (I think) – each of which is anywhere from 3 to 5 hours long. I kept telling them that, no matter how awesome a show it is, I can’t justify that much time to get caught up on a series. I ended up starting around episode 20, where Wil Wheaton and Felicia Day guest star, and though I have fallen in love with this show, I’m still not going back to watch the early episodes that I missed.

There’s just too much other stuff out there to capture my attention. I’m still working through the stack of books I have at home, and though I’ve decided I can’t buy or borrow any additional books until I’ve finished that stack, I know there are more books coming out every month that I would want to read. I used to scope out the monthly list of sci-fi and fantasy novels on Kirkus, but now I avoid it, since inevitably about half the titles on there capture my attention. There are old series on Netflix that sound awesome, several regular shows I follow that are about to return for new seasons (like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.) and new shows that I want to dive into once they start (like Designated Survivor) and somewhere in there I’d like to play the games I’ve bought on Steam, like The Walking Dead. But I’m also not the type of person to spend hours and hours watching or reading things, because I like to be productive (that’s not a judgement on people binge-watching or spending an afternoon on their Xbox – I’m just not wired in a way that allows me to do that, which sometimes would be nice). And so every time someone says to me, “Hey, check out this new thing!” I just sigh and say, “It’s going on the list” without promising that I’ll get to it, because I don’t know if I ever will.

Yeah, life is clearly tough…

2 thoughts on “There are Too Many Awesome Things

Leave a Reply

