March Read – BLACK SCIENCE by Remender, Scalera, White

I was really torn on picking a recommendation from what I read in March. In the end I’ve decided to focus on vol. 1 of Black Science, primarily because it’s a comic – and I’m not a big comics person, so the fact that this one resonated with me is huge. I’m also going to do a brief shout-out to a second book at the end, since this is my blog, dammit, and I can break my own rules if I want to 😀

Black Science is a comic series by Rick Remender, Matteo Scalera and Dean White that focuses on a team of scientists led by antihero Grant McKay. They’ve successfully invented a device called the Pillar, which allows them to traverse dimensions at will. Naturally, things go awry immediately, which is part of the reason I was hooked on this story so quickly. Volume 1 begins with McKay and his team running for their lives in another dimension, terrified and frantic and wanting to get home, and it’s only through flashback and character dialogue that you begin to learn how they ended up there and why. I’m not giving nothing away, but rest assured that the sequence of events that lead to McKay and his team getting lost between dimensions is riveting.

BlackScience_vol1-1

What sold me on this, though, is the characters. McKay is the perfect antihero – driven by ambition to create the Pillar, convinced he’s in the fight, and forced to reconsider everything he’s done when he inadvertently gets his children stuck with him between dimensions. While he grapples with the morale of his team, butting heads with the suits who financed his operation, and certain personal issues with select characters, his driving motivation is to just get his kids home to their mother – no matter what happens to him in the process. If you’re like me and you’re not a big comics person, I still recommend you pick up volume 1 of this series – even if you never read another comic again, this one is so worth it.

Special Shout-Out: Last month I also finished Nigh, a serialized dark fantasy story published by fellow Ottawa writer Marie Bilodeau. Nigh tells the tale of what happens when faerie creatures pour out of their world to takeover ours, focusing on a few specific characters led by Alva, a young auto mechanic whose family has ties to the faerie world. When I say “dark fantasy,” I mean friggin’ dark. I caution you not to get attached to anyone, because Marie will do terrible things to them and pull at your heartstrings. But just like Black Science – damn, is it worth it!

7315f-nigh-3-final

Leave a Reply

