From One Con to the Next

Last weekend, I made my first trip to the west coast to attend Norwescon, the Pacific-Northwest’s annual science fiction and fantasy convention. To be perfectly honest, my head was spinning a little bit through the whole weekend and I think I’m still recovering – Norwescon has huge programming tracks related to writing, costuming, relationships/consent, and a bunch of programming for kids, so it was a lot to take in. Instead of a detailed flashback concerning what I got up to, here are some highlights:

  • The live-stream launch for Women in Practical Armor, Kickstarted through Evil Girlfriend Media and edited by Gabrielle Harbowy and Ed Greenwood
  • The subsequent panel, which was easily the most energized and enthusiastic panel I saw
  • An SF-character throwdown organized by Erik Scott de Bie, which resulted in a final fight between Captain Marvel and Rey (guess who won?)
  • Confirmation that I can write a  space opera novel that isn’t hard SF (I want wormholes or FTL, dammit, and I’m gonna get it!)
  • A massive dealer’s area, where I discovered my love of cephalopods
  • Getting to hang out with both Gabrielle and, of course, my amazing crit partner, Fanny Darling 🙂

Now that I’m back in the capital, though, it’s time to start up some new work. I was recently invited to join the programming team for Can*Con, the annual speculative fiction conference here in Ottawa (something that still leaves me feeling honored and amazed), and we’ve already started discussing programming, panelists, etc. to make this even better than last year’s con (which was pretty damned fun). This year Can*Con will be held from September 9th to 11th, at the Novotel hotel downtown, with one Guest of Honor already announced: Sheila Williams, editor of Asimov’s Science Fiction since 2004. Early bird registration can be filled out here, and you can also apply to be a panelist or suggest programming by going here.

I’ll be sharing news over the next few weeks regarding Guests of Honor and other fun stuff (among my usual ramblings), so stay tuned! And if you have any questions about Can*Con, don’t hesitate to ask.

Leave a Reply

