50-Word Reviews – November 2015

I didn’t read quite as much last month as usual – or, at least, not as much that I feel the need to discuss. More Dresden Files reading, and I tried tackling The Snow, but found it wasn’t my cup of tea. Here are a few titles you may want to check out:

Cursed – Black Swan by Ryan T. McFadden

Think Indiana Jones + Ocean’s Eleven + Assassin’s Creed. Great fast-paced urban fantasy with an awesome antihero who can’t catch a break – and it’s often his fault.

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

Probably the subtlest use of fantasy I’ve ever read, and Ruby does it well. It’s technically YA, but doesn’t read like it to me. Fascinating characters and a ton of mystery.

The Monuments Men by Robert M. Edsel and Bret Witter

I’m a history teacher, so once in a while I dip into non-fiction. This was a great read because it’s set up almost like a novel, and guides you through the mindset of the soldiers tasked with protecting Europe’s art during WWII. Highly recommend this.

Leave a Reply

