The Stuff I’ve Never Watched

I went through a familiar conversation today with a friend of mine: someone mentions a particular TV show or movie that’s famous and/or widely known, finds out I’ve never seen it, and can’t believe it. Then they insist that I go watch it immediately (which I don’t mind in the slightest, Fanny, don’t worry!)

This happens a lot with me. It should be noted that I’ve seen a lot of the big pop culture titles from around when I was born (1989) or after – Indiana Jones, Back to the Future, The Last Starfighter, Blade Runner, Jurassic Park, etc. But there’s a ton of them that I haven’t seen. In the case of a lot of the “classics,” I honestly haven’t felt compelled to watch them; there’s a lot of newer stuff coming out that is equally worth watching. The same is true of books – I haven’t finished Herbert, Gibson, Clarke, Dick, or a lot of other huge forces in old-school sci fi and fantasy, largely because there’s only so many hours in the day, and I’ve never been a huge fan of “classic” novels.

Anyway, I thought it would be fun to make a list of the movies and TV shows that I’ve never seen, despite people constantly telling me to go watch them. It’s mostly SF, but I’ve included a few others that people keep bringing up. I’m probably missing some, but here goes:

  • 2001: A Space Odyssey
  • Alias
  • Alien
  • Babylon 5
  • Breaking Bad
  • Dexter
  • Donnie Darko
  • Farscape (have watched bits and pieces, and all of Peacekeeper Wars)
  • Forbidden Planet
  • Heroes
  • Logan’s Run
  • Predator
  • Quantum Leap
  • Sons of Anarchy
  • Soylent Green
  • The Newsroom
  • The Thing
  • The West Wing
  • The X-Files (past Season 2)
  • Twin Peaks

A few of these I plan to watch because they seem really up my alley – Babylon 5, The Newsroom, Farscape, and Twin Peaks specifically. The rest I honestly don’t think I’ll ever watch. Like I said above, there’s too much really good stuff out there, particularly television, and there’s only so much time in the hourglass. So when you suggest something to me, don’t be offended if I never actually get to it. I barely keep up with the shows that are airing new episodes right now.

Want to see if there’s anything I haven’t seen that I forgot to mention above? Feel to comment below or tweet me; I’m actually curious…

4 thoughts on “The Stuff I’ve Never Watched

  1. I”ve seen just five of the things on your list. 2001 was worthwhile because science. My lasting impression of Alien was that Sigourney Weaver would have looked more formidable in less ridiculous panties. Can’t figure out if that was blatant fan service, an attempt to make her look vulnerable, or meant to show that you can be a sexy woman and kick ass. Logan’s Run was most notable for predicting that in the future, makeup would be nearly indestructible. Don’t remember much about Predator. There was gunfire, and lots of it. Soylent Green apparently won awards, which amazes me.

    But speaking of other things you may have missed, that I have seen: Planet of the Apes and Omega Man (if we must watch Charlton Heston, I think I prefer the latter.) Dr. Who. I saw the first season as a terrified child. From behind the sofa, where the Daleks couldn’t get me without going through my family first. Also proud to have seen Creature from the Black Lagoon in monochrome 3D. And all the old Godzilla movies. Mad Max was a fascinating look at what terrified straight white Australian men in the late seventies. Did you see any of those? Or Outland, with Sean Connery?

    Lastly, a personal favourite: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind. If I could recommend one SF film that you shouldn’t miss, it would be this bravely pacifist and environmentally aware anime. I don’t think anything newer has overshadowed it.

    • I started watching Doctor Who last year, and I’m still trying to catch up – I’m almost finished Matt Smith’s run as the Eleventh Doctor. It’s easily one of my favorite shows of all time, and I can’t believe it took me this long to watch it.

      I’ve never seen Omega Man or Creature; bits and pieces of old Godzilla. The newest Mad Max was the first one I’ve seen, and I’m familiar with Outland, but have never seen THAT either. My sacrilege goes on!

      However, I HAVE seen Nausicaa – and you’re right, it’s a phenomenal film. I’ve seen a lot of Miyazaki’s films – my favorites would probably be Nausicaa and Castle in the Sky. But it’s tough to choose; they’re all really strong.

  2. I think you should definitely find time for 2001 – and not just because you’re an SF writer; it’s a really interesting film on many levels – effects, science, scope, metaphysics, cinematography, cultural. There aren’t (m)any films I can think of that approach 2001 in its particular scope (from early primates to space exploration to cosmic psychadelia). I only recently finished Breaking Bad and very highly recommend it. I just started watching X-Files season 1 and am really enjoying it. Those would be my top 3 from this list. Oh, and The Thing. I’ve only started Twin Peaks, but plan to continue it.

    • I’ve heard mostly good things about 2001 – especially from sci fi writers, so I’ll hopefully get to it. Honestly, I’ll probably never get to Breaking Bad. I’ve heard the acting is tremendous, but the premise doesn’t interest me enough to invest five seasons worth of my life. I’d like to get back into the X-Files … I may have to watch a bit, take a break, then get back into it.

      This is the issue, though: everyone has great reasons to recommend all this stuff! But there’s only so much in my puny human hourglass!

Leave a Reply

