50-word Reviews – October 2015

This one is a bit delayed, due to posting about Can*Con and the Ottawa Small Press Book Fair. But here’s some of what I read in October, in my 50-word review format:

Dangerous Women, edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois

Picked this one up because it features a few of my favorite authors, and it did not disappoint. Joe Abercrombie’s “Some Desperado” was hilarious, and very different than other stuff I’ve read by him. Brandon Sanderson’s novella Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell takes top prize, though.

Last Argument of Kings, by Joe Abercrombie

I’ve raved about the First Law trilogy. The final instalment is simply awesome. Great twists, brutal action, and a satisfying ending that puts every character exactly where they deserve to be. I didn’t realize how twisted my sense of humor really is until I read this trilogy.

index

Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin

Stories about angels and soulmates aren’t my usual fare, but Poitevin’s novel really delivers. Great realism – Alex and her police colleagues behave exactly as I would expect in the face of the supernatural. The story is fairly straightforward, but it’s an enjoyable read.

Nigh – Book 1 by Marie Bilodeau

This is the first instalment in a serialized dark fantasy novel. I couldn’t put the damn thing down. Great characters, lots of surprises, and a totally twisted, bloody take on faeries. Don’t read this one right before you go to bed. That was my mistake!

Coming Home by Jack McDevitt

I’ve been waiting for the next Alex Benedict novel to come out in paperback for a while. Not my favorite in the series; the antiquities investigation is really just a backdrop here, but the novel makes up for the banal resolution in some excellent ways.

91rV6Lkyd8L

Leave a Reply

