50-Word Reviews – September 2015

Trying something new for this new monthly review series that I’ve added to my blog. Instead of rambling for a while about each book, I’m going to challenge myself to tell you exactly what you need to know in fifty words or less. This is partly to keep things interesting, and partly because I’m starting to polish off one to two novels a week on my route to and from work. Haven’t discussed all my September reading below, but hopefully these rapid-fire thoughts will be helpful for you!

Armada by Ernest Cline

Didn’t expect this to be better than Ready Player One, but it was still really disappointing. Cline spends the whole story pointing out how silly and predictable old alien invasion plots are – and then constructs a blatantly predictable plot with no satisfying twist. Wait for Cline’s third book.

My Real Children by Jo Walton

Very soft science fiction, set in two parallel universes – neither of which is our own! – both of which might not exist. It’s more a character drama than anything else, touching and intriguing with a great open ending.

Relic by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

The book jacket calls this Jurassic Park set in New York City, which it pretty much is. As creature thrillers go, I think Crichton’s the better author, but this is still a solid novel if you’re looking for a quick, entertaining read with great characters.

The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher

I just finished book ten, White Night, and this series is still one of my favorites. To all the critics: if urban fantasy with flawless continuity, impressive character depth, non-stop conflict, and the perfect blend of humor and tension doesn’t appeal to you – get over it.

Leave a Reply

