Saying “Farewell, For Now”

This week was mostly taken up by worldbuilding my new novel, which I doubt any of you want to hear about just yet – I’ve gone on about worldbuilding a few times in recent months.

It was a bittersweet week for me, since I saw one of my best friends for the last time before he sets off for a one-year Master’s in France. I’ve never been great with goodbyes, and so I think it has me in a bit of a funk. I’m excited for my friend’s new adventure, but the possibly of him never moving back to Canada (he has an interest in international business), to be honest, scares me a little. There’s a core group of our friends from Queen’s University that have kept in touch over the years, and it took me a little bit to adjust as we each found our post-grad opportunities – to Toronto, Alberta, Seattle, Colorado, and in my case, Ottawa. So I know I’ll get used to it. France is just a little bit further than, say, Alberta (at least in my mind – geographically it might be the same distance, as the crow flies).

Anyway, I often don’t do well with change, and I could push that aside and try to figure out something else to discuss this week, but I prefer expressing exactly what’s on my mind. Things that weigh heavily on your mind or on your soul are important to writing, too. Writing is a cerebral activity, as Patrick Rothfuss says, and it’s difficult to compartmentalize things in your mind so you can pound out words. But the things that make you sad, or angry, or uncomfortable can sometimes be fuel, too. So there’s that.

If you’ve had a friend embark on a faraway adventure, hopefully you understand what I’m getting at. Meanwhile, I’m going to find something entertaining to watch online, and then get back to the writing grind.

Leave a Reply

