Depth by Lev A.C. Rosen

I was looking at the Kirkus Review list of speculative fiction novels to look for last month, and I was amazed at how many were immediately added to my “Want to Read” list on Goodreads. Aside from the writers I’m familiar with, like Jonathan Maberry and Mary Robinette Kowal, there were a bunch that I had never heard of before, but who I’ll be checking out as soon as my bank account will let me. 🙂

The one that I’m most intrigued by, though, has to be Depth by Lev A.C. Rosen. In addition to being a PI novel, it’s also post-apocalyptic, set in a not-too-distant future where rising sea levels have cut New York City off from the rest of the world and put it partially underwater. Here’s the synopsis from Goodreads:

“Depth combines hardboiled mystery and dystopian science fiction in a future where the rising ocean levels have left New York twenty-one stories under water and cut off from the rest of the United States. But the city survives, and Simone Pierce is one of its best private investigators. Her latest case, running surveillance on a potentially unfaithful husband, was supposed to be easy. Then her target is murdered, and the search for his killer points Simone towards a secret from the past that can’t possibly be real—but that won’t stop the city’s most powerful men and women from trying to acquire it for themselves, with Simone caught in the middle.”

Not only does it sound like a great premise, but it also reminds me of one of the stories that I published in Tides of Possibility last year. My story, “Teachable Moments,” is set during a massive hurricane that partially floods New York’s subway system, after the city fails to properly implement the safety measures suggested by Bloomberg in 2013. I just love the idea of looking at the very real possibility of places like New York or Los Angeles being forever altered by climate change, and how people can go on living in this potential future.

I’m hoping that Rosen’s novel meets my expectations when I get a chance to read it. Don’t worry, I’ll let you know either way.

Leave a Reply

