Yep, I’m excited about Star Wars

Having just watched the teaser trailer for Star Wars: The Force Awakens, I can honestly say that I’m still excited. In case you haven’t glimpsed it yet, here’s a link to the trailer through Entertainment Weekly, along with a few of their thoughts: http://insidemovies.ew.com/2014/11/28/star-wars-trailer-7/. Watch that first, and then come back here. It’s okay. Go ahead.

***

Welcome back. Now, the first few shots in the trailer had me a little worried. That astromech droid riding what looked like a soccer ball was a little confusing. And the initial shot of John Boyega seemed a bit campy. But when I heard the voice-over talking about the Force – does anyone else think that could be Andy Serkis speaking? – and saw lightsabers and X-wings, the sheer joy in my gut overwhelmed any possible concerns. And the producers at Disney, in their obvious wisdom, chose the best possible shot for last: the Millennium Falcon, in all its glory, duking it out with some TIE fighters.

That is why, regardless of the overall quality of Star Wars VII, I know I’ll enjoy myself when I go see it. Am I still pissed off at Disney disavowing the entire Expanded Universe? Absolutely. Am I still worried that J.J. Abrams particular outlook on what Star Wars should be might not match what I think it should be? Yeah. But all of that is nothing compared to my excitement at the possibility of seeing Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, Princess Leia, Chewbacca and the droids in another adventure. And that shot of the Millennium Falcon is all the convincing I need that The Force Awakens is going to be something worth seeing.

Leave a Reply

