When You Realize Later Who You Were Talking To

I find that at any large gathering you end up talking with people at length without ever finding out who they are. It’s happened to me before – I actually commented on it here, concerning a brief run-in with Steven Heighton. And yesterday I realized that it happened again – this time at Can Con.

I mentioned in a previous post the workshop I attended with Julie Czerneda. One of the individuals at my table was a great source of ideas and discussion, and though I bumped into him again at Jo Walton’s workshop and saw him throughout the convention, I never properly introduced myself or got his name. I’m actually terrible for that. I figured that I’d have to wait until the next Can Con to figure exactly who it was I was speaking with.

So I was surprised to see the very same individual on a flyer for the Ottawa International Writers Festival, advertising a talk with Professor Jim Davies. It focuses on his book Riveted, which discusses why certain things capture our attention while others slip by unnoticed. This is Professor Davies here:

Source: writersfestival.org

Apparently I was brainstorming random stories with a professor of Cognitive Sciences from Carleton University, who runs his own institute and has been featured on TEDx – and I had no idea. Having read a bit about Professor Davies and his work, I really wish now that I had thought to trade names and find out a little more about him. His exploration into why we latch onto certain ideas and abandon others sounds really compelling, and it’s definitely something I’d want to learn more about. Opportunity missed, apparently.

Nonetheless, in the off chance that this blog post shows up in your Google Alerts or finds some other way to you – it was excellent chatting with you, Professor. Feel free to drop me a line here in cyberspace anytime.

Leave a Reply

