Oh, man … Can-Con 2014 approaches…

I was looking through the preliminary list of programming for this year’s Can-Con, and to say I’m impressed would be an understatement. This will be the first year that I’m attending Ottawa’s annual spec fic writing conference – despite having lived here for two years now – and I can’t believe the kinds of things I’ve been missing out on. Just from the preliminary list, there are some excellent panels and workshops looking at writing for RPGs, self-publishing opportunities, the physics of time travels, and other topics, as well as the opportunity to sit down with acclaimed writers and editors and pick their brains.

Most importantly, several publishers will be on hand scheduling appointments to hear book pitches, which is the impetus I need to get my ass into gear on finishing my novel. As I’ve mentioned previously, my writing slowed down this summer, but the chance to jump the slush pile and actually talk to publishers is not something I want to pass up. So don’t expect to see me very much here, fellow writers; my novel is calling to me again.

If you’re going to be in the Ottawa area between October 3-5, or you don’t mind making the trip, I highly suggest you check out Can-Con. I was surprised at how affordable a weekend pass is, and there’s going to be some excellent discussions, workshops and merchandise to be had. You can find out more information here.

Leave a Reply

