Poetry at the Artel Turns 5!!!

Admittedly, I’m a day late in celebrating this, but I want to wish a heartfelt “happy birthday” to the Poetry at the Artel open-mic reading series, which is held on the first Tuesday of every month in Kingston, ON. It’s run by the amazing Bruce Kauffman, and is possibly the most welcoming and encouraging writing community I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting. I’ve read there a couple times in the past – it’s difficult to get there now that I live in Ottawa – but if you’re in the Kingston area and you want to try your hand at public reading, then the Artel is the best place to start.

For those of you who are in Ottawa, I’ll be attending the Mansfield Press spring launch at Raw Sugar Cafe tonight, at 7:30 p.m. There are three writers being showcased tonight – Gary Barwin, Dani Couture, and David McFadden – by one of my mentors, Stuart Ross. The Mansfield events are always a blast, so I highly recommend that you attend!

Leave a Reply

