NaNoWriMo Results

So that whole goal of posting once a week during NaNoWriMo clearly didn’t pan out. But that’s not a bad thing in my mind, since it means I was spending more of time working on my novel.

And guess what? Yesterday, 50,000 words was achieved!!!

I usually don’t talk much about my accomplishments, or tend to downplay them, since I never want to sound like I’m bragging. But pulling this off is incredibly exciting for me. Not only is it a nice feather in the cap, but it was also the push I needed to get cracking on my first professional novel. Once the manuscript is completely finished (I’m at 50,314 words right now, and still have more chapters to add) I’ll be into the long, agonizing but insanely fun stage of editing and revising. But getting that first draft completed is the hardest part, and it’s easy to let yourself get lazy. That, fellow writers, is the major advantage of attempting NaNoWriMo.

If you’re still pursuing your 50,000 words, hang in there!

Leave a Reply

