The Joy of Completion

In between other projects, I’ve been working on a short story called “Disconnected” for about a year-and-a-half – and it’s been a struggle. I knew the idea that I wanted to present, but unfortunately I couldn’t figure out exactly how I wanted to do it. So I experimented with different structures, different characters, different styles, etc, in a sometimes desperate attempt to get the story exactly how I wanted it. And several times I was certain I should just scrap the entire thing and move on to something else – and while I did move on to different writing projects, I managed to keep coming back to “Disconnected” and keep working at it, no matter how frustrated it made me.

Fellow writers, I know you can sympathize.

But finally – finally! – this story is finished. Most importantly, I’m happy with it, barring a few little tweaks – one of which I just added to what is now Version Six. I’ve sent out to a few beta readers, and I want to publicly thank everyone for taking the time to read it and let me know some thoughts. Once I hear back from everyone, I can start thinking about where I might submit it. That step won’t come for at least a month, though; it’s one of the rules of my personal craft that I let a completed story ferment before I consider submitting, just in case.

So to every writer out there: don’t abandon a story too quickly, especially if you love the idea and want to see something come out of it. No one ever said our job was easy – though it is wickedly fun, even when there’s long, caffeine-filled slogging to be done.

Leave a Reply

