Not Everyone Has a Cabin Somewhere

A while back, I read an article in Writer’s Digest that provided advice on organizing a writing retreat that doesn’t require you to travel to some secluded chalet in the Rockies or pay an exorbitant fee – in fact, you don’t even have to leave your home. I’d like to share some of the insight that this article offered.

The basic premise of the article is that while writing retreats in the traditional sense can be valuable, they are often beyond the reach of the average writer, especially an emerging writer. Instead of spending a lot of money on a retreat, you can create one for yourself right at home. For example, you can spend an entire weekend locked in your office and set the restriction that you aren’t allowed to leave (except for food and bathroom breaks, and to sleep, if you want) until Monday morning. Or you can spend a week frequenting your favorite coffee shop, with the same restriction. Another suggestion is to turn scenarios unrelated to your craft – such as looking after a friend’s house while they’re on vacation – as an opportunity to get some solid writing done.

The reason I’m discussing this article is because until now I haven’t been able to give it a try for myself. For the next three-and-a-half days, until Thursday night, I will be on a self-constructed writing retreat, right in my home city. The most it will cost me is the price of a couple teas, and if I focus properly I will have made serious progress on more than one of my projects by the end. And on the weekend, I’ll post again to let you know how it went.

So goodbye for now, and good luck on your own writing pursuits!

Leave a Reply

